Newest Books


''Horror High-Rise,'' screams a New York City tabloid's headline in Levin's ( Rosemary's Baby ) new fast-moving, made-for-TV-style thriller. A fashionable Upper East Side apartment building is the site of the fifth unlikely death in recent years, but new tenant Kay Norris, a divorced, chichi book editor originally from Wichita, Kan., is not overly worried. Nor is she fazed when her hot new boyfriend Pete Henderson confides that he is the building's low-profile owner, and that he has been spying on all the tenants for years using video cameras hidden in their apartments. ''Petey, it's wrong . . . it's something you have to put behind you,'' head-over-heels Kay implores this seductively charming psychopath. Dorothy, another displaced Kansan, showed more common sense in Oz than does this hapless heroine in the Big Apple. Kay physically resembles Pete's deceased mother, a famous old-time actress, a coincidence that links residents of the high-rise to a dark past. In a slam-bang finale, Kay is rescued by her cat, who has more vitality than this lame, formulaic tale.


The classic thriller of Dr. Josef Mengele's nightmarish plot to restore the Third Reich Alive and hiding in South America, the fiendish Nazi Dr. Josef Mengele gathers a group of former colleagues for a horrifying project. Barry Koehler, a young investigative journalist, gets wind of the scheme and informs famed Nazi hunter Yakov Liebermann, but before he can relay the evidence, Koehler is killed. Thus Ira Levin opens one of the strangest and most masterful novels of his career. Why has Mengele marked a number of harmless aging men for murder? What is the hidden link that binds them? What interest can they possibly hold for their killers: six former SS men dispatched from South America by the most wanted Nazi still alive, the notorious "Angel of Death"? One man alone must answer these questions and stop the killings—Liebermann, himself aging and thought by some to be losing his grip on reality. At the heart of The Boys from Brazil lies a frightening contemporary...


Anna Lopez is on vacation. No more appearing professional. No more gray skirts and uptight blouses. She's off to find a fantasy in Chicago when her car breaks down and dumps her in a weird B&B with...oh my god...a soccer star hunk that's burning up the media waves.Mike Smithson can't believe that another soccer groupie is trying to invade his family's reunion. Worse, his mega star twin brother isn't even here, and yet the woman won't leave. She cozies up to his aunt and nephews with one lame excuse after another. Well, there's no help for it now. He's got to protect his family, so he grabs the girl and hauls her away from his family where she can't hurt anyone.Which is when the weekend takes a decidedly erotic turn. Crazies can be fun and sexy and so damn awesome that he begins to think he should be locked up in the loony bin with her. Until his damned twin show up and Anna gets exposed as a fraud. But just which twin does the woman want? And what is her real game?


Su-Ling Chen will do anything to rebel—even show up at her father's birthday bash with motorcycle-riding bad boy Mitch Kurtz. But love has a way of turning the tables. When Mitch ignites Su-Ling's true passions, she's left with a choice: defer to family expectations...or love the man who has stolen her heart.


An unexpected catch... NBA star Mike Giamaria doesn't mix basketball with love. Ever. Then Mike meets Tori Williams, his cute, quirky new neighbor who seems hell bent on refurbishing her death trap of a house on her own. When she falls from her roof and into his arms, Mike knows he's just caught a whole heap of trouble. Trouble sums up Tori's life. Despite her academic success, no one believes she can take care of herself-not her family, not her ex-boyfriend. She's determined to live her life on her own terms, and if that includes a hot summer fling with the super-sexy athlete next door, so much the better. But when Tori's around, Mike can't keep his mind on basketball. He wants...more. And to his horror, not just more time on the court. When training starts, it's game over-it has to be-unless Tori can convince Mike that love doesn't belong on the sidelines.  


Lady Sophie’s Society Splash When Sophie, the least interesting of the Talbot sisters, lands her philandering brother-in-law backside-first in a goldfish pond in front of all society, she becomes the target of very public aristocratic scorn. Her only choice is to flee London, vowing to start a new life far from the aristocracy. Unfortunately, the carriage in which she stows away isn’t saving her from ruin . . . it’s filled with it. Rogue’s Reign of Ravishment! Kingscote, “King,” the Marquess of Eversley, has never met a woman he couldn’t charm, resulting in a reputation far worse than the truth, a general sense that he’s more pretty face than proper gentleman, and an irate summons home to the Scottish border. When King discovers stowaway Sophie, however, the journey becomes anything but boring. War? Or More? He thinks she’s trying to trick him into marriage. She wouldn’t have him if he were the last man on earth. But carriages bring close quarters, dark secrets, and unbearable temptation, making opposites altogether too attractive . . . **


Sarah MacLean, one of the freshest and most exciting new voices in historical romance fiction, shares the Ten Ways to be Adored When Landing a Lord—her second witty and deliciously sensual Regency romance novel and a treat for fans of Julia Quinn, Julie Garwood, and Lisa Kleypas. In Ten Ways to be Adored When Landing a Lord—the unforgettable follow-up to MacLean’s Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake—a highborn but penniless young woman needs to enchant “London’s Lord to Land” without the much sought after gentleman realizing he’s being enchanted!


A rogue ruined... He is the Killer Duke, accused of murdering Mara Lowe on the eve of her wedding. With no memory of that fateful night, Temple has reigned over the darkest of London's corners for twelve years, wealthy and powerful but beyond redemption. Until one night, Mara resurfaces, offering the one thing he's dreamed of...absolution.A lady returned...Mara planned never to return to the world from which she'd run but when her brother falls deep into debt at Temple's exclusive casino, she has no choice but to offer Temple a trade that ends in her returning to society and proving to the world what only she knows...that he is no killer. A scandal revealed... It's a fine trade, until Temple realizes that the lady - and her past - are more than they seem. It will take every bit of his strength to resist the pull of this mysterious, maddening woman who seems willing to risk everything . . . even true love.


A lady does not smoke cheroot. She does not ride astride. She does not fence or attend duels. She does not fire a pistol, and she never gambles at a gentlemen's club. Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always followed the rules, rules that have left her unmarried - and more than a little unsatisfied. And so she's vowed to break the rules and live the life of pleasure she's been missing. But to dance every dance, to steal a midnight kiss - to do those things, Callie will need a willing partner. Someone who knows everything about rule-breaking. Someone like Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston - charming and devastatingly handsome, his wicked reputation matched only by his sinful smile. If she's not careful, she'll break the most important rule of all - the one that says that pleasure-seekers should never fall hopelessly, desperately in love . . .


Blood Tears is the first in a series of books featuring DI Ray McBain, a Glasgow detective who has too many friends in the underworld for his own good. A murder case with links to McBain’s childhood in a Catholic orphanage forces him go on the run when he becomes the main suspect. Michael Malone's novel is Scottish noir at its best — Ray McBain is a complex character in a complex situation, where everything leads back to Bethlehem House.

A Travis McCrea website

Check out our Audiobook site