Newest Books

12506148741655

When Rebecca, the narrator of most of Dunmore\'s fine, almost unbearably sad eighth novel (after 2003\'s Ice Cream), shares a flat with Joe in London, she begins to enjoy the pleasures of friendship and family for the first time in her life: she was abandoned as a baby and adopted by a couple remarkably unsuitable for parenting. Joe, a historian interested in Stalin, introduces her to simple pleasures and shows her that loneliness need not be permanent. And it\'s through Joe that she meets Adam, a neonatologist who becomes her husband and the father of their daughter, Ruby (\"For the first time, I was tied to someone by blood\"). Given the book\'s title, Ruby\'s death is no surprise (though it\'s still heartbreaking without being melodramatic), and Dunmore plumbs the consequences of loss: How does one mourn, and then accept, the unacceptable? Numbed by Ruby\'s death, Rebecca drifts away from Adam, finding diversion in a job as an assistant to a hotelier, Mr. Damiano; Adam buries himself in his work with premature babies. Ambitiously, Dunmore complements this tragic narrative with two other stories, one autobiographical, told by Mr. Damiano, about growing up in a circus where his parents were trapeze artists, and one told by Joe, a work of fiction set during WWI about a man and a woman who could be his and Rebecca\'s ancestors. Rebecca\'s own story isn\'t told linearly, so these narrative asides aren\'t as distracting as they sound. And they are critical to the author\'s main theme: that narrative is a key to understanding and to acceptance. This is that rare novel, an intensely emotional, fiercely intelligent story, fiction with the power to offer redemption.

12506152687766

As one of ten kids in a blue-collar family in Edgewater, New Jersey, Barbara Corcoran didn\'t have many material advantages. She shared her bedroom with five sisters and shared her socks in a communal sock drawer. Yet she grew up to have plenty of self-confidence, because her mother had an amazing gift for nurturing the unique talents in each of her children. Barbara\'s mom didn\'t know much about business, but she understood how the world works, and how to make the most of what you\'ve got. In the early 1970s, Barbara borrowed $1000 from her boyfriend to get her start in real estate. That led to the birth of The Corcoran Group, which today is New York\'s premier residential real estate brokerage, with over $1 billion in annual revenue. Her amazing rise to the top has become the stuff of legend and inspiration. Barbara - now nicknamed the Queen of New York Real Estate - credits her success to not just to hard work and determination, but to her mom\'s enormously valuable advice. Not just the standard maternal wisdom, but real gems such as, \'If the clubhouse is quiet, they\'re probably not making spaghetti.\' In Use What You\'ve Got, Corcoran illustrates her mother\'s wisdom and insight with twenty-five \'how tos\' for getting ahead in business. Each lesson is brought to life with real business scenarios, an outrageous childhood adventure story, and tips garnered from Corcoran\'s years in the most competitive real estate market in the world.

12506153629591

The World of Cherry is an erotic and psychological journey into the soul of a lesbian madam and the explicit activities that take place within the private high-end, all-women strip club she owns. At the Cherry Club, the members are free to indulge in their wildest fantasies with other women, discreetly, and with class. A beautiful and skilled staff of dancers and acrobatic performers entertain for their pleasure, stopping at nothing to satisfy the needs of the gorgeous and wealthy women who frequent the club. \n **

12506121403734

Who is the Alpha Billionaire and what does he want from Evie Johnson? Just when Evie thought she had everything figured out, everything changed. Evie met Grant Slate on the night she was helping her friend out at a bachelor party. She never expected to fall for one of the patrons, but when he offered her a night of fun, she couldn\'t resist saying yes. And then she met Tyler. Mysterious, sexy and with eyes so blue, she feels like he\'s looking into her soul. Tyler is a man she can\'t stop herself from being drawn to, but she can\'t forget Grant. Both men want Evie. Both men pursue Evie. Yet she doesn\'t know if she\'s found herself in the middle of some sort of game. When secrets come out that change everything, Evie doesn\'t know how or if she can distance herself from the two men. Because Evie is starting to fall for one of them hard and fast. Only she doesn\'t know if she\'s fallen for the right man. For there are some games that you can never win.

12506122250130

He wanted her for four weeks. Only she didn\'t really know why. \n TJ Walker and Mila Antonia Brookstone have known each other for years. He\'s her brother\'s best friend and she\'s admired his muscular body and handsome good looks since she was a teenager. Only he was never interested, until now. \n In a game of cat and mouse, TJ and Mila find themselves going back and forth like they always do, only this time something is different. They become closer on a summer trip to the lake house, only neither one really knows who is pursuing whom. And the secrets behind both pursuits are well hidden. \n TJ wants her to be his fake fiancé for a reason, but the reason she accepts might well surprise everyone. In the game of romance, can secrets ever truly lead to love? \n

12506132708118

Underneath Everything is a seductive, gorgeously written debut about two girls bound by an obsessive and toxic friendship, perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Courtney Summers. \n Mattie shouldn\'t be at the bonfire. She should be finding new maps for her collection, hanging out with Kris, and steering clear of almost everyone else, especially Jolene. After all, Mattie and Kris dropped off the social scene the summer after sophomore year for a reason. But now Mattie is a senior, and she\'s sick of missing things. So here she is. And there\'s Jolene: Beautiful. Captivating. Just like the stories she wove. Mattie would know—she used to star in them. She and Jolene were best friends. Mattie has the scar on her palm to prove it, and Jolene has everything else, including Hudson. \n But when Mattie runs into Hudson and gets a glimpse of what could have been, she decides to take it all back: the boyfriend, the friends, the life she was supposed to live. Problem is, Mattie can\'t figure out where Jolene\'s life ends and hers begins. Because there\'s something Mattie hasn\'t told anyone: She walked away from Jolene over a year ago, but she never really left. \n **

12506133681016

Parenting is hard. So is being a peacemaker in a violent world. It Runs in the Family is a book about how parents can create lasting and meaningful bulwarks between their kids and the violence endemic in our culture. It posits discipline without spanks or slaps or threats of violence, while considering how to raise thoughtful, compassionate, fearless young people committed to social and political change — without scaring, hectoring or scarring them with all the wrongs in the world. Frida Berrigan is a mother and stepmother, wife and daughter. Her parents, Phil Berrigan and Elizabeth McAlister, were a former priest and nun who became nationwide icons for their prophetic witness against war and nuclear weapons, which sometimes resulted in long jail sentences. Berrigan grew up in the community they helped found, Jonah House in Baltimore, and becoming a parent herself has forced her to come to terms with her own upbringing in new ways. Expanding on the stories in her popular column for the website Waging Nonviolence, Berrigan has crafted a welcome antidote to the various parenting fads currently on offer from French moms and tiger moms and mean moms. She offers a unique perspective on parenting that derives from hard work, deep reflection, and lots of trial and error.

12506134504472

A thoughtful and incisive meditation on literature, motherhood, and spiritual wellbeing from Turkey\'s leading female author \n After the birth of her first child, Elif Shafak experienced a profound personal crisis. Plagued by guilt, anxiety, and bewilderment about her new maternal role, the acclaimed novelist stopped writing for the first time in her life. As she plummeted into post-partum depression, Shafak looked to the experiences of other prominent female writers—including Sylvia Plath, Virginia Woolf, Simone de Beauvoir, and Alice Walker—for help navigating the conflict between motherhood and artistic creation in a male-dominated society. Searingly honest, eloquent, and unexpectedly humorous, Black Milk will be widely embraced by writers, academics, and anyone who has undergone the identity crisis engendered by being a mother. \n **

12506122892156

Sophie and Max have been in love with each other for years. But Max thought she was off limits because she was his sisters best friend and much younger than him. When they both realize that they want to be together and are in love, they finally get together to start their new life, happy and excited for their new baby to join them.Ella Van Harkel is Max\'s sister and Sophie\'s best friend and she has relationship issues of her own. When she decides to join an online dating service, she has no idea that she is being manipulated by people from Max\'s past.The path of true love never goes smoothly and when Max\'s ex Alexis comes back to town with explosive news, Sophie isn\'t sure how to think or feel. She tells Max she wants to learn more about his dark past and as they go down the path of his troubled history, they begin to unleash secrets so dark that neither of them will ever be the same again.

12506123741787

Abby has a wild night out and ends up hooking up with the person who can make her life the most difficult. Professor Carson O\'Brien wants Abby and he is willing to do anything to get her and keep her in his bed. Little do Abby and Carson know but there is someone out there who will do anything to make sure they are not together. \'The Professor\'s Student\' (The Full Series) contains all 4 novellas. The Bet The Classroom The Weekend The Twist This is an erotic romantic series that is very hot and not for readers under 18. If you like your romances full of heat, spice and sex, you will love this book.

A Travis McCrea website

Check out our Audiobook site