Newest Books


How biology, psychology, and history shape us as individuals We are doomed to repeat history if we fail to learn from it, but how are we affected by the forces that are invisible to us? In The Invisible History of the Human Race Christine Kenneally draws on cutting-edge research to reveal how both historical artifacts and DNA tell us where we come from and where we may be going. While some books explore our genetic inheritance and popular television shows celebrate ancestry, this is the first book to explore how everything from DNA to emotions to names and the stories that form our lives are all part of our human legacy. Kenneally shows how trust is inherited in Africa, silence is passed down in Tasmania, and how the history of nations is written in our DNA. From fateful, ancient encounters to modern mass migrations and medical diagnoses, Kenneally explains how the forces that shaped the history of the world ultimately shape each human...


Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is the dark and compelling sequel to the bestselling The Murder Complex, which Booklist praised as "carefully crafted . . . chilling" and Justine magazine called "a must for fans of action-packed dystopians like The Hunger Games and Divergent." With short, fast-paced, alternating point-of-view chapters, The Death Code starts several weeks after The Murder Complex ends. Zephyr keeps the secret about Meadow close—that if she dies, The Murder Complex will be destroyed, too. Meadow, desperate to find her brother, father, and little sister, is determined to fight fearlessly to the end, even if it means sacrificing herself and her friends, new and old. The Death Code introduces a memorable cast of secondary characters and delivers a vivid and scary thrill ride read. For fans of La Femme Nikita, Legend, and Hanna.


'Brilliantly written and totally gripping. I loved it' S J Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep on Tideline Have you committed a crime ... or are you the victim of one? Driving down to the cottage in Southwold she's newly inherited from her Aunty May, Ellie senses she is on the edge of something new. The life she's always dreamed of living as a successful artist seems as though it is about to begin. So excited is she that she barely notices when the car bumps against something on the road. That evening Ellie hears a news flash on the radio. A man was seriously injured in a hit and run on the very road she was driving down that evening. Then Ellie remembers the thump she heard. Could she have been responsible for putting a man in hospital? Unable to hold the doubts at bay, she decides to visit the victim to lay her mind to rest, little knowing that the consequences of this decision will change her life forever.


She could have stopped an awful crime. She could have saved a life. She tried to forget about it. But now, the truth is out. The terrifying new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Retribution and Pretty Little Things. Faith Saunders is the perfect wife, mother, and community champion -- loved and admired by all who know her. One night will change everything. Driving home in the pouring rain, a dishevelled young woman bangs on the car window, pleading for help. The isolated stretch of road is dark, and with her daughter Maggie asleep in the backseat, Faith refuses to let the stranger in. What she sees next will haunt her forever. As the missing-person posters appear, Faith's guilt consumes her. And when it turns out that Maggie wasn't asleep that night, Faith's perfect life begins to unravel. Maggie's testimony leads to an arrest. But Faith is the only one who can identify a second man involved in the...


Detective Jeremy Fisk tracks a serial sniper who has mastered state-of-the-art airborne technology to hunt his prey in this chilling thriller from the New York Times bestselling author and creator of the Law & Order franchise. When a leaker named Verlyn Merritt releases sensitive documents from the NYPD Intelligence Division to WikiLeaks, some of the deadliest criminals have access to Detective Jeremy Fisk’s unlisted home address. Within hours, three mysterious assailants arrive at his Sutton Place apartment. Who are they and why do they want Fisk dead? Authorities quickly identify and arrest Merritt. But the case takes a sinister twist when an anonymous third party makes threats if authorities don’t release Merritt immediately. Forced from his home and his bank accounts drained, Fisk confronts Chay Maryland, a reporter who has been covering Merritt’s case. Fisk wants the journalist’s help to get close to the leaker—to find out what Merritt really wants and who else is involved. The investigation is nearly derailed when a serial sniper begins shooting people on the street who seem to have no connection to Merritt’s case. The killer’s aim is eerily accurate—and Fisk believes the shooter might be using a drone rigged with unusual sighting capabilities. Then the sniper contacts the New York Times and promises to kill one person every day, “for the greater good of the citizens of America. With the clock ticking and millions of lives at stake, Fisk and Chay must find the mastermind before he can wreak havoc on a city paralyzed by fear. **


After years of child rearing, chores and career challenges, Valérie feels the sexual heat in her life has cooled. All she wants is a break from her everyday routine—until an unexpected reunion with a man from her past awakens the pure sexual wanting she thought she'd lost….


You've seen Charlie and Clink's romance blossom and grow. You've seen it implode when the secret of her true identity was revealed. To know where a couple is headed, you have to know where they've been.  Take a look at what drove Charlie to do the things she did in the name of revenge, what had gotten her to that point. Find out what in her past made her into the person she became, and led to the choices she made.  Clink thought he had finally found his rightful Ol 'lady. She was everything he could have dreamed. He let down the guarded wall he has so careful built over the years to let her in and take another chance on love. When her identity was revealed it shattered his world and made him regret ever letting her into it. She wouldn't be able to break his heart if he took it back. This is a short companion novelette to lay more background in to Clink and Charlie's life before the Kingsmen MC, book 4.5 to help you better understand this couple before we see their resolution in book 5, BITTER SWEET CRAVINGS, due Summer 2015. 


When Glory James's boss catches her having sex with a client at the office, she expects to get reprimanded, not Bruce Davies's revelation that he wants her, too. Even more shocking is his confession that he likes to be told what to do in bed—and that Glory is aroused by the idea...

A Travis McCrea website

Check out our Audiobook site