Newest Books

12604961230957

 Award Winning Finalist in the 'Humor' category of the 2013 International Book Awards. 2013 Readers' Favorite International Book Award Winner - Humor (Honorable Mention). WARNING: This book contains irony, tongue-in-cheek sarcasm and heavy doses of wit. Not suitable for readers expecting a traditional rom-com where the male character is a billionaire or some other fantasy variation of an alpha male. In fact, when it comes to love, the main character, Martin, has been described as a bumbling idiot... so please be warned. Martin is a 24 year old guy who falls in love with a 38 year old woman. He has to grow so fast emotionally that he feels like he just got hit by a speeding bus. Not only is Frances fourteen years Martin's senior, but she's all about putting Zen into relationship, which involves every guy's worst nightmare: talking about your feelings, being conscious of your thoughts and above all, unabashed, honest communication at all times. Martin has no idea what he is getting himself into and the sharp learning curve that's required of him especially when he's thinking sex but she's thinking Zen. If you're a fan of Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle, Danny Wallace, Tony Parsons, Nick Spalding or any other author loosely categorized under the umbrella of "Lad-Lit," "Man-Lit," or "Guy Lit," then you are sure to enjoy this book!

12604960529417

Marlena de Blasi, the acclaimed author of such delectable memoirs as A Thousand Days in Venice and That Summer in Sicily, now brings her luminous prose to the world of fiction with this remarkable debut novel. Set against the backdrop of Europe as it moves inexorably toward World War II, Amandine follows a young orphan's journey in search of her heritage. The story opens in Krakow in 1931, as a baby girl is conceived out of wedlock, the byproduct of a foolish heart and a tragic inheritance. The child's grandmother, a countess, believes that she is protecting her daughter when she claims that the baby didn't survive. In truth, however, she deposits the infant at a remote convent in the French countryside, leaving her with a great sum of money and in the care of a young governess named Solange. Solange takes it upon herself to give the child a distinctive name, Amandine, and the two form a special bond. But even Solange's unconditional love cannot protect her charge. Mistrusted by both the abbess and the convent girls, the unusually astute and curious Amandine finds her childhood filled with challenges and questions: Who is she? Where does she come from? Eventually, Solange is forced to choose between the terrors of the convent and those of a global war looming outside its doors. Thus, with a purseful of worthless francs and a sack of provisions, the two flee north toward Solange's childhood home. But what should have been a two-day journey by train becomes a perilous, years-long odyssey across Occupied France--and deeper into the treacheries of war. Tracing the flight of Amandine and Solange while peering into the lives of the countess and her daughter, Amandine's mother, who still mourns and dreams of the child she thinks she lost forever, Marlena de Blasi's epic novel winds its way toward a dramatic and compelling conclusion, as mother and daughter draw ever nearer. Amandine is a sumptuous tale of identity and survival, persistent hope and unexpected love.

12604959205963

From the author of stunning debut The Mourning Hours comes a powerful new novel that explores every parent's worst nightmare... The Kaufmans have always considered themselves a normal, happy family. Curtis is a physics teacher at a local high school. His wife, Kathleen, restores furniture for upscale boutiques. Daniel is away at college on a prestigious music scholarship, and twelve-year-old Olivia is a happy-go-lucky kid whose biggest concern is passing her next math test. And then comes the middle-of-the-night phone call that changes everything. Daniel has been killed in what the police are calling a "freak" road accident, and the remaining Kaufmans are left to flounder in their grief. The anguish of Daniel's death is isolating, and it's not long before this once-perfect family finds itself falling apart. As time passes and the wound refuses to heal, Curtis becomes obsessed with the idea of revenge, a growing mania that leads him to...

12604941706805

A singular new voice in historical fiction. A time of decadence in a country embroiled in revolution. An unforgettably high-spirited heroine. Set in opulent, decadent, turbulent revolutionary France, Mistress of the Revolution is the story of Gabrielle de Montserrat. An impoverished noblewoman blessed with fiery red hair and a mischievous demeanor, Gabrielle is only fifteen when she meets her true love, a commoner named Pierre-André Coffinhal. But her brother forbids their union, choosing for her instead an aging, wealthy baron. Widowed and a mother while still a teen, Gabrielle arrives at the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette in time to be swept up in the emerging cataclysm. As a new order rises, Gabrielle finds her own lovely neck on the chopping block and who should be selected to sit on the Revolutionary Tribunal but her first love, Pierre-André. . . . Replete with historical detail, complex and realistic characters (several of whom actually existed), and a heroine who demands and rewards attention, Mistress of the Revolution is an unforgettable debut. A stunning new talent in historical fiction makes her debut with a novel perfect for readers of In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant

12604940730018

From New York Times bestselling author Joanne DeMaio comes an enchanting novel about love, family, and the delicate power of snowflakes. Reluctant to leave her cherished New England hometown after her sister's winter wedding, former journalist Vera Sterling makes a sudden decision. She takes what's left of her severance pay and invests it in real estate ... in one particular drafty colonial home and old timber barn set upon the pretty banks of Addison Cove. In that rough-hewn barn, she discovers a secret treasure left behind by the previous owner, the proprietor of the long-forgotten Christmas Barn gift shop. While restoring her rundown, wood-sided home--its creaking floors, broken bannister, and neglected widow's walk--that secret slowly unfolds like a bit of snowflake wonder, crystallizing hopes and dreams for many in this small Connecticut town. But mostly for Derek Cooper whose own tragic story has headlined Addison's news. And whom Vera has come to love. When the first snowstorm hits during Derek's annual Deck the Boats Festival at the cove, residents become stranded. It is then up to Vera to not only bring the town together, but to mend one man's heart she fears she may have lost. Snowflakes and Coffee Cakes is a heartwarming story, one that reminds us to look to winter's stars. Because snowflakes can grant very special wishes ... if only we believe.

12604937497393

She's got loads of talent, a massive crush--and no confidence. Now she just needs a plan. . . Interior designer Emmie Brewster is having one of those. . .decades. Her overbearing boss believes she's only qualified to make coffee. Her boyfriend treats her like a booty call. And her widowed father is dating again--more successfully than she is. Then Emmie lands a client who happens to be the hottest man she's ever encountered. Too bad Graham Cooper is already involved with the kind of woman Emmie longs to be. If only she had the courage. . . Emmie's always been content to dream--about having her own business, her own Mr. Right--but something about Graham makes her want to take action. Maybe it's time she used her talent for creating beauty and order on herself. She has Graham's admiration--does she dare go for more? With a little encouragement from her friends, and a lot of newfound motivation, Emmie's ready to try. . .

12604937108854

When it comes to love, she's a professional skeptic. Is it too late for a career change? If there's one thing Georgiana Down is an expert in, it's bad relationships. That's what inspired her blog, Down on Love, where she gives snarky advice—usually along the lines of "dump him." In fact, George is abstaining from men all together. At least that's the plan—until she makes a trip back to her tiny hometown in the Catskills, where meddling is an art form. . . George loves helping out with her new baby niece, but she's counting the days until she returns to Boston. Then she runs into Casey Bowen, her high school crush. The boy she once loved is now a handsome grown man—and suddenly George needs a little advice of her own. She's in the right place, because when she drunk posts on her blog, everyone in Marsden has something to say about George and Casey. It's like high school all over again—but maybe this time she'll get things right. . .

12604936894405

One of Hollywood's hardest working women is about to discover there's a lot more drama behind the camera than in front of it. . . Faith "Freakin'" Sinclair probably shouldn't have called her boss a perv. . .or grabbed his "privates." But as creator of the hit dramedy Modern Women, she'd had enough of his sexist insults. Now she's untouchable in the industry--not in a good way. The only way to redeem herself is to convince Alex, the wildly popular, wildly demanding former star of her show, to come back. But there's one obstacle in her way--one very handsome, broad-shouldered obstacle. . . Professor Mason Mitchell is head of the theater department where Alex is studying "real" acting. The only way he'll let Faith anywhere near Alex is if she agrees to co-teach a class. It's an offer she can't refuse--and as it turns out, the professor just might end up teaching Faith that there's more to life than work--and that real-life love scenes are way more fun than fake ones. . .

12604935743682

Undercover cop Alex Vaughn goes deeper than ever into the organized crime family of Buffalo, NY. Motivated by justice and revenge, he seeks out the assassin that laid his friend Jack low. Professional killer Rafael Rontego traverses the deadly politics of Buffalo’s mafia underbelly. In a city whose winter can be just as deadly as those wielding power, Rontego tries to stay ahead of the game. Their two worlds collide in this epic thriller that takes the reader on a search for self, justice, and truth.

12604931484766

*Winner of the ALA Reading List Award Difficult and obstinate. Thriving under a set of specific and limited conditions. That pretty much describes me. Maybe that’s why I like these roses so much.* Roses are Galilee Garner’s passion. An amateur breeder, she painstakingly cross-pollinates her plants to coax out new, better traits, striving to create a perfect strain of her favorite flower, the Hulthemia. Her dream is to win a major rose competition and one day have her version of the bloom sold in the commercial market. Gal carefully calibrates the rest of her time to manage the kidney failure she’s had since childhood, going to dialysis every other night, and teaching high school biology, where she is known for her exacting standards. The routine leaves little room for relationships, and Gal prefers it that way. Her roses never disappoint her the way people have. Then one afternoon, Riley, the teenaged daughter of Gal’s estranged sister, arrives unannounced to live with her, turning Gal’s orderly existence upside down. Suddenly forced to adjust to each other’s worlds, both will discover a resilience they never knew they had and a bond they never knew they needed.

A Travis McCrea website

Check out our Audiobook site