Tag: Adolescence

The Body Where I Was Born

The first novel to appear in English by one of the most talked-about and critically acclaimed writers of new Mexican fiction. From a psychoanalyst’s couch, the narrator looks back on her bizarre childhood–in which she was born with an abnormality in her eye into a family intent on fixing it. In a world without the time and space for innocence, the narrator intimately recalls her younge... »

Leap of Faith

Can true love be built on lies? A teen on the run seeks relief and redemption in this gripping, “compulsively readable” (School Library Journal) romantic read that Kirkus Reviews calls a “marvelous debut, moving and suspenseful.” Leah Kurtz has finally found a place to call home, a town where she and baby Addy can live in peace, far from the drug-infested place she grew up.... »

Emancipated

Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant raves is “an amazing new talent!” Six gorgeous teens, all legally emancipated from parental control, move into their dream house on LA’s infamous Venice Beach only to discover their perfect setup may be too good to be true. The roommates-a di... »

Inside Out Girl

Cohen throws every imaginable obstacle at her protagonists in this thoughtful but overly dramatic tale of two single parents turned lovers. Rachel Berman, the divorced publisher of Perfect Parent magazine, is striving to be just that to her two children, rebellious teen Janie and 12-year-old Dustin. Len Bean, a widowed lawyer, meanwhile, tries to manage his daughter Olivia’s learning disorde... »

Icing on the Lake

Beach reads for snow bunnies–our wildly popular beach reads expand to winter! The author of Maine Squeeze is back with another funny, romantic novel, this time in the snow. »

How to Meet Boys

Find out what happens when you fall for your best friend’s worst enemy in this hilarious tale of a forbidden first love and forever friendship. The author of Maine Squeeze and Love and Other Things I’m Bad At, Catherine Clark, has once again crafted a romantic coming-of-age story that will stay with you long after you turn the last page.Lucy can’t wait to spend the summer at the ... »

The Castle on Deadman’s Island

A death, a curse, a ghost, nasty people . . . an excellent new mystery Intrigue. An eccentric millionaire. A woman’s disappearance. A child’s skeleton. A ghost. A towering castle. A secret tunnel. All of these and more make up this compelling new mystery novel by award-winning author Curtis Parkinson. When the owner of the castle on Deadman’s Island dies, his bizarre will leaves ... »

Blood Roses

“What shall we do, all of us? All of us passionate girls who fear crushing the boys we love with our mouths like caverns of teeth, our mushrooming brains, our watermelon hearts?” Block’s latest book, featuring eight new stories and one reprint, explores female sexuality with wild poetry and a sense of vulnerability that extends to the book’s cover, a discreetly posed nude p... »

Stolen

A stunning debut novel with an intriguing literary hook: written in part as a letter from a victim to her abductor. Sensitive, sharp, captivating! Gemma, 16, is on layover at Bangkok Airport, en route with her parents to a vacation in Vietnam. She steps away for just a second, to get a cup of coffee. Ty–rugged, tan, too old, oddly familiar–pays for Gemma’s drink. And drugs it. Th... »

Scott Westerfeld

From School Library Journal Grade 6-10–Moving when you’re in high school is difficult enough, especially when your parents can’t seem to hold their own lives together and your younger sister is being more obnoxious than usual. However, for 15-year-old Jessica Day, these concerns pale when bizarre things start to happen and she discovers that she now has unwanted magical powers. Part sc... »

Registration

Forgotten Password?