Tag: Sagas

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple. Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been ever thus for generations. Then one day a jeep appears at the village gate-the first automobile any... »

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple. Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been ever thus for generations. Then one day a jeep appears at the village gate-the first automobile any... »

Fairytale: A Novel

A wonderful, beautifully told tale from America’s favorite novelist, Fairytale is a captivating example of the truths that will always withstand even the darkest storms, and a reminder that sometimes fairytales do come true, and good prevails over evil in the end.Camille Lammenais has grown up in the beauty of the Napa Valley, surrounded by acres of her family’s vineyards. Her parents,... »

Map of the Invisible World

Starred Review. This exquisite and haunting second novel from Aw (The Harmony Silk Factory) follows a vibrant cast searching for a sense of home during the political upheaval of 1960s Indonesia. After 16-year-old Adam de Willigen’s adoptive father, Karl, is arrested by Indonesian soldiers, stranding Adam in their remote island village, he sets off for Jakarta to find him. Meanwhile, American... »

Practice Makes Perfect

Damien Blaze is the HOTTEST ticket in rock and roll…so long as keeps his hands off the fans. When the record label decides he needs to work on his image-starting with the fiancee they “chose” for him-settling down and growing up might be the last thing on his mind. Nancy Harper has a stake in all this, too. She’s a veteran celebrity tabloid reporter and has watched her male colle... »

The Garden of Happy Endings

From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel-perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs. After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparin... »

Liberty Silk

One beautiful dress is the key to three brave women’s destinies… France 1919: Jessie is celebrating the last heady days of her honeymoon. But when her husband suddenly disappears she finds herself bereft. Until a chance encounter thrusts her into the centre of the intoxicating world of Parisian high life. Hollywood 1945: Lisa has come a long way from her quiet, unassuming life in London and ... »

The Privileges

Smart, socially gifted, and chronically impatient, Adam and Cynthia Morey are so perfect for each other that united they become a kind of fortress against the world. In their hurry to start a new life, they marry young and have two children before Cynthia reaches the age of twenty-five. Adam is a rising star in the world of private equity and becomes his boss’s protege. With a beautiful home... »

One Small Thing

Avery Tacconi, the 28-year-old heroine of Inclan’s latest (after 2003’s When You Go Away), wants everything to be perfect, but life keeps getting in the way of her plans in this endearing story. At first, fertility problems loom large-Avery abandoned a promising career to put more effort into conceiving-but soon enough her husband’s secret past takes center stage. It turns out th... »

Falling Angel

No small part of the appeal of Chevalier’s excellent debut, Girl with a Pearl Earring, was its plausibility; readers could readily accept the idea that Vermeer’s famous painting might indeed have been created under circumstances similar to Chevalier’s imaginative scenario. The same cannot be said about her second novel. While Chevalier again proves adept at evoking a historical e... »

Registration

Forgotten Password?